General Terminology

Is there a location on this community site where I can ask terminology-related questions?

Parents Reply
  • An entry exists in our termbase for the English (US) term "associate". Our French Canadian linguistic reviewer notified me that depending upon the context, there may be three different ways of translating this term as "employé", "associé", or "collaborateur". What is the best way to enter this information? Should I enter the English (US) term three times with a different FR-CA translation and note in the Context attribute the usage or is it possible to have one English (US) entry for this term and enter the FR-CA translation three times?

Is this the best way to handle this situation or is there another way?

Thanks for your help!
Children
  • Can I ask....are all three of those different ways of using the word "associate" used in your content?
  • First, i am not a terminology expert, but i do work with one and pay close attention to what is recommended, additionally i've confirmed his approach with other sources as the best way to do terminoloy.

That said, when working with worldserver termbases you have two levels of organization, an entry (which holds many terms) and a term which is specific to a given language.

The approach that i am told and believe is appropriate is the idea of a concept based terminology where you separate even your source terms from the concept and then add the terms to that entry.

In our implementation we have an entry that describes the concept that we are tracking and then all terms that apply to this concept are then added to that entry. To differentiate differing words that describe a single concept we use additional attributes (create by us using the WS UI) that detail the usage, context, part of speech etc.

So to answer your question.