"Number is missing in target segment or is not properly localized"

Hi, I am a free lance translator for Czech language, and my very important question about Studio 2019 is: How can I manage the message: "Number is missing in target segment or is not properly localized". In fact the Studio 2019 (as all previous versions of Trados/Studio) doesn't know the rules to respect using the numbers in the documents in Czech. So, the above mentioned message is very null and void/disturbing/ineffective.

As translator, am I able teach the Studio to manage the numbers as needed?

If not, should it be possibile for the SDL make known to everybody this very fatal failure?

Many thanks in advance for all useful reactions

Miroslava

25 Replies Latest Replies: 26 Oct 2018 11:06 AM by Steven Whale < 1   2   3   4   5  >
  • In reply to Paul:

Hi Paul,

The problem was caused because the source document was badly formatted, containing a mixture of numbers correctly formatted in French with the non-breaking space and other sections where they were formatted with the period as the thousands separator. The number checking in Studio's standard QA checker was turned off and the following images show the settings in the number verifier plugin. Despite the fact that both the space and period are shown as valid thousands separators, I got hundreds of errors saying "numbers modified/unlocalised". This means that relatively unimportant "unlocalised" errors are mixed up with serious "modified" errors.

My justification for my statement is that if error checking produces so many false positives that they cannot be examined manually, then there is, in effect, no error checking. It is a fact of life that translators have to deal with badly formatted documents and must do so without introducing errors of substance.

XBench located the error immediately and produced no false positives.

I hope this is of use and I am at your disposal if you have further questions.

Thank you for your time.

Neil