I want to insert <cf size=6> </cf>

I'm a beginner and I'm translating English file into Japanese.

Sourse file is a pdf file.

I converted it to ms word 2010.

I made a project English to Japanese from the docx file.

There are many tags like

<cf size=7></cf>

<cf size=7.5></cf>

in the left pane (English sourse)

But when I preview Japanese MS word, Japanese characters are pretty big and it didn't show fully.

For example,  Arigato -> Ariga (they are Japanese letters)

So I want to make their font size smaller.

(Question 1)

There are <cf size=7></cf> in the left pane (English sourse), I tried to copy and edit them to <cf size=6></cf>.

But I didn't know how I can edit the tag.

Can I edit the tags?

(Question 2)

Or, if I could extend text box size of MS word, I may not have to make letters smaller.

But I don't know if I can change the MS word file's attribute like text box position, text box size, colour and so on.

Are there any way to edit the object layout, object size, attribute of objects and so on?

7 Replies Latest Replies: 8 Nov 2018 8:06 PM by Paul < 1   2  >
  • Hi

You cannot change the attributes in Studio. The best approach is to clean up the DOCX you converted and then translate it. You'd probably have to clean up the target file anyway so you might as well do this at the start and make the translation easier.

There some nice tools for this, for example:

appstore.sdl.com/.../
  • In reply to Paul:

Hi Paul,
    Thank you for understanding my problem and giving me the good advice.
    I had been struggling to change the size and I had been exhausted.
    Now I can stop the sterile effort.
    Thank you very much.

I will try to use the tools too.
    Thank you for introducing.

By the way, when i translate English pdf file to Japanese which has a lot of charts, which way do you recommend?

English source is
    (1) pdf
    (2) docx converted from pdf by MS Word

The main problem is Japanese is run over the text boxes and so on.