Translation memories are empty - SDL TRADOS Studio 2015 Freelance

Hi everybody, I have problem with translation memories in SDL Trados Studio 2015 Freelance. At the end of every projects, I find out that translations memories are empty. Could the problem come from the way I create the TM itself or rather from the recording during the work ?

Each time I create a project, I associate a TM to it, and I choose « activate », « research », « concordance » and « update ». Task sequences : « Prepare » et not « Prepare without TM ».

 

But at the creation, I don’t insert the field nor parameters.

Could you help me, please?

 

Thank you

  • Valentin

    Let's check the most obvious first: do you confirm the segments you have translated using CTRL-Enter?

    Also, run the batch task "Finalize" once you are done with the document, this will update your TM (with the segments you have confirmed, so confirming is really imperative).

    Walter
  • Walter

    Thank you very much.
    I was confirming the segments with CTRL-enter, but I thought that it would be enough.
    I tested the task "Finalize" and it works !

    Best regards
  • Valentin Barrau said:
    « Prepare » et not « Prepare without TM »

    I have a suspicion this is your problem.  As Walter says, confirming should be enough.  But if you are using a Project TM, and I think you are because you seem to be choosing « Prepare », and not what this really called, « Prepare without project TM ».  So you are confirming your segments into a Project TM which is created in your project folder.  Your main TM will remain empty with this approach until you update the Main TM, or Finalise.

    So try using « Prepare without project TM » instead and you'll find your segments are updated as you work.

    Regards

    Paul

  • Paul,
    Thank you for your reply. With your help and Walter’s answer, I understand much better now.

    Best regards
  • I have the same problem, but "Finalize" doesn't work in my case, nor . Nor other batch tasks work. I have to translate very difficult project sent to me by my client, and I am so down...
  • I have the same problem, but "Finalize" doesn't work in my case, nor . Nor other batch tasks work. I have to translate very difficult project sent to me by my client, and I am so down

    If something does not work, you usually get error messages. Please post them here, as there is no expert in the world yet owning a crystal bal, telling him all the stories which are behind the lines.
    You say "no other batch tasks work". So if that is so, your product does not work at all. In that case you need to reset the product. But in any case, please try to be more specific, as "being down" when translating difficult projects may simply be caused by being tired.
  • No error message, the product reseted many times (and I am non tired): the TM simply doesn't work but only with specific project. The other projects are OK.
  • OK, this is more details now. Can you please check, if the TM is properly configured in the relevant place within the project? If so, the TM MUST be activated and set up for updates. If there is also a project TM, use the batch "Finalize" or "Update main TM".
    However, any TM will update only if the segments in the file have the status Translated, Translation Approved or Signed Off. With the default settings no update will be done with segments having any other status.
    Please check further, if the TM is not setup as read-only in your system.
  • Many thanks: I will continue trying to fix my problem.
  • Hello there,
    you might not have ticked the appropriate box in the project menu where you can choose which TM you want to use for your project. There is a box completely to the right which says "Aktualisieren" in German, it might be "update" in English. Just tick it and start the Batch task again, it worked out fine for me.
  • Paul, I'm moving from 2015 on one computer to 2017 on a new one & am trying to make things more organized. I created a project for one set of files in Studio 2017; I created a project TM for it; I added a series of sdlxiff files; I processed it as "Prepare". The TM (not the main, but the PROJECT TM) appears to be unpopulated. Why might that be?
  • Perhaps your match values are set so that nothing was found in the Main TM to add to the Project TM?
  • I'm reading through the entire on-line manual and, by coincidence, I've just hit a section about exactly this - and that demonstrates that I don't understand something in the terminology.

    The passage is: "Main translation memories are any translation memories that are added to a project. A main translation memory can be local or server-based translation memory. Project translation memories contain translations that have been taken from the main translation memories that you selected for a project." (docs.sdl.com/.../GUID-A1325586-CB7B-4C56-9C2E-26D760546410

    What I don't understand here: I created the TM when I created the project. The TM should hold things from the files I made it from, not some other ("main") TM, no? And I thought the main TM would be a default, general, supra-project TM. I have something wrong, here, obviously, but I can't quite figure out what. I just reworked security permissions to get access to my own files and now I'm verifying all the files before finalizing them, which may help. But I'd still like to make sure I know what all this means.

    I should add that I've just installed 2017 and started moving files over. I don't think I even have brought any TMs over - there may not BE a TM other than the one I created for (and as part of) this project from those files.

    KEY: the REASON I created a project TM was to control suggestions (I'm thrilled about the idea of using fragment matches for suggestions). I figure I can keep a TM for each area topic (legal, medical, whatever) and then combine them when and how and to the extent I like, rather than having one mass TM. Will that not work?

  • ok - definitely misunderstanding things here.

    John Narins said:
    What I don't understand here: I created the TM when I created the project. The TM should hold things from the files I made it from, not some other ("main") TM, no?

    No. The Main TM can be a TM you create when you create your Project or it can be any number of TMs you already have that you add to your project.  It doesn't necessarily contain anything from the files in your Project, unless you have translated these files, or parts of them, before.  There is no TM update at this stage from the source files.  So if you create a TM at this stage it will obviously be empty and won't be populated until you start translating.

    John Narins said:
    And I thought the main TM would be a default, general, supra-project TM.

    No.  A Project TM is like a scratch pad TM.  This is created in addition to your Main TM if you use the create Project TM batch task when you prepare your project.  So you have these options:

    If you select just "Prepare" then you'll get this "Project TM".  Now when you work all your translations will be updated interactively into the "Project TM(s)" and not your "Main TM(s)".  You only add them to your "Main TM" at the end of your Project (or whenever you feel like it) using the "Update Main TM" batch task.

    You can still create multiple TMs for your subject matter if this is the way you wish to work, but they are still "Main TMs".  The Project TM is populated from the Main TM based on content in the Main TM that matches the content of the source files.  So if you use the defaults, 70% fuzzy, then you should get anything found in your Main TM that would have been a 70% match or higher, placed into your Project TM.  This way you work with a TM that is maybe a few hundred, or thousand Translation Units, as opposed to the Main TM that might contain a million.

    Hope that helps a little.

  • How do you set the translation as approved and signed off when you work as a freelancer and are the only one to use the tool ? I wish this was clearly explained in the TM quick start guide - however, nothing clearly explains to set up the TM so that it updates after the end of a project. I have spent hours trying to figure out how to make it work and I'm only seeing now that it has to be set up for updates. How ? Could you point towards either a clear documentation or a video that explains it? Thank you.