Detecting language please wait for.......
Due to frequent crashes, I think it's time to make a clean reinstallation of Trados 2019 SR2.
However, I have a lot of customized data. Layouts, profiles, plugins, QA settings, Regular expressions, Option settings, Projects, license... and I am terrified I might lose all or part of all that information.
How should I proceed to keep all settings in Trados 2019 (or easily recover them) but delete all files and perform a clean reinstallation? I am particularly speaking about how can I proceed without erasing all custom data I might have gathered along the years (either knowingly or unknowingly)...
I'd really appreciate it, Trados is failing…
Would repairing the installation delete no user files while solving and cleaning crash issues, or is it better just to uninstall and reinstall?
It's worth noting that one of the most likely places for issues is in these files so you might have to clear them and start again to get a cleaner installation. If you go through support…
It's worth noting that one of the most likely places for issues is in these files so you might have to clear them and start again to get a cleaner installation. If you go through support they will almost certainly do this. Ths app is quite useful because it will also explain what you will lose by carrying out a reset before you do it:
So you can see what data is held where and do a controlled reset first to see if it helps.
One question, Paul. Do you know what happens if, when reinstalling, I change the hard drive units? Will that screw up all my existing projects? I use a SSD disk as e: and I want to now use that hard drive as my main unit (C:) and reinstall erverything there as my main drive but I fear what might happen with all my projects... Of course, all of my existing projects are now in unit E:
Hello Ignacio Niveiro ,
What exactly is that you want to do?
The C drive is always your default drive and where Studio is installed- You can save your files/[projects wherever you want.
If you are running out of space, I would recommend that you clean up the C drive and store your completed projects on an external drive (and save new ones to that same drive).
If you are removing and swapping the C drive- then please remember that if you have not saved the data- this will be lost.
Ok, I initially had only one drive (C:), but then at some point I bought an SSD (E:). I know, I should use the SSD as boot drive but that involved a lot of reinstalling, so I kept using C: and used the SSD drive as a faster storage drive.
So while Trados Studio is in C:, all my TM's and project files are now in E:
But things have reached a point where I need to reconfigure everything and do things right, as my system is corrupted, failing and extremely slow. But if I do a fresh Windows installation, and use my SSD as my boot drive, it will change from E: to C:
That will mean that all project files and TM's that now are referring to E: will change their location. So even if I perform a backup of the project files, they still will have internal paths referring to hard disk E: which will no longer exist.
So, even if I back everything up and reinstall Trados in the new C: drive, even though Trados internal files will be in the same disk (C:), project files will change from being in E: to being in C: (to make use of the faster drive).
But I have the inkling that will cause HUGE problems. Even though a file is physically in C:, Trados willl believe they are in E: and look for TM's, termbases or project files in E: So ... how do I avoid this? Do I have to go project by project changing manually the project location in Project Settings/Project/Location?
Not only I am terrified scared of all the applications I have that will stop functioning, but not being able to check old Trados files as well!
Hi Ignacio Niveiro
It's not a huge problem really.
Only those projects you haven't finished working on will be affected.
Each time you open one of those, either by double-clicking on the .sdlproj file via Windows Explorer or by navigating to it via Open project from within Studio, Studio will off you the chance to navigate to the TM or termbase that it can't find where the project settings say it should be. Then you just navigate to the place where it now is and continue with opening the project.
I hope this helps,
All the best,