Deactivation vs reset

We have pro and freelance licesnses that I need to dis-associate from whatever computer they may reside on-which I do not know.

Can I  do that from my SDL account?

I then need to assign some of those licenses to viable machines and then upgrade.

What does reset license do?

TYIA