Insight into how to maintain TMs for languages I don't speak.

We are looking into introducing Trados to our organization and we would like to maintain memories for a number of languages that no one in our staff speaks. Our Spanish-speaking staff can create, update and align memories, for example. This way we can send translators memories from previous jobs when a new job comes up. We would like to do this for other languages. But we don't know if there is any way to do so for language that we don't speak?

We would appreciate any insight anyone can provide.

Thanks!

Parents
  • Hello

Indeed these are very good questions.
    I used to be a translation project manager working with Trados Studio every day. I was also tasked to create and maintain memories with languages I don't speak, and align documents. It is always tricky a bit but manageable, in my experience. 

As for the alignment, my suggestions:
    - You can align a documents even if you don't speak the languages, although it's always safer if the person doing the alignment speaks at least one of the languages.
    - The tool aligns the documents based on their structure, i.e. the first segment of the source will be paired up with the first segment of the target. Therefore the more similar the two documents are in layout and structure, the better the automatic alignment will be. With this in mind, it is usually a good idea to check the documents against each other before the alignment, and modify their structure to make them more similar.
    - If ever you are suspicious of a pairing, the best is to contact a translator or if not possible, use machine translation to see if the two sides of the pair match.
    - If you are not fully sure of the quality of the alignment, don't be afraid to apply higher penalty than the default 1%.
    - It's best to align Word and Excel documents, and you can also compare them easily side-by-side outside of Studio, if needed.