XML issue: why Studio 2021 SR1 - 16.1.3.4096 (O/S sadly is WIN 7 Home professional) replaces the ' with a "?

A customer would send me XML files for translation since many years. The problem is that I receive error messages described in the screenshots attached. I (not at all XML programmer) looked into old XML files, and there was a file called uptime_trans.dtd. This was not sent along with the latest XML files. In Studio 2013 (as in all legacy versions) there is a facility in which Project Settings  contained all types of files with various XML types among them (vd. screenshot)

I am not a XML programmer, but I reckon that there is a way to enter this dtd file into the row with the file types so that further XML files can be treated adequately. Is this assumption correct? If so, how could I include the dtd file into the row with all the file types?

A further issue with these XML files was that a ' was replaced with a " which the effect that the customer could not oopen the target file although he could view the bilingual translation on Studio's editor screen. Why did Studio replace the ' with a double quotation mark " causing this error? I paste relevant files here hoping that they yield sufficient information. I really would appreciate your support since this issue is with a longtime customer, and it is hard to keep them during this pandemic.

Theme_Stromversorgung SMPS_00003.xmlTheme_Stromversorgung SMPS_00003_E.xml

• I am not a XML programmer, but I reckon that there is a way to enter this dtd file into the row with the file types so that further XML files can be treated adequately. Is this assumption correct?

Sort of.  The dtd is only used to validate the correctness of the XML.  Ideally you would create a custom XML filetype for your file and then include your schema if it's important for you to have the xml validated against it:

https://docs.sdl.com/813470/534137/sdl-trados-studio-2021-sr1/xml-validation-page