The last post in 2015.....

You want to switch, export, reset or simply want to know more about the currently in use User Profile settings but....great that you found that blog post !!! :)

Update note 1/6/2016: The information now can also be found in the SDL KB #9226

The post is providing a general overview of the following topics:
  • Overview: User Profiles
  • How to Check Which Profile You Are Currently Using
  • How to Export Profile Settings
  • How to Switch User Profiles
  • How to Reset User Settings
NOTE: Latest information can be also found in the SDL Trados Studio - Product Online Help.
 

Overview: User Profiles

SDL Trados Studio stores all your settings and preferences in your user profile. Your profile contains:

  • User settings (for example, custom keyboard shortcuts, custom look and feel, selected Spell Checker)

  • Default project settings (for example, default Language Pairs, TMs, Termbases, AutoSuggest dictionaries, Automated Translation servers, File Types, TM settings, Batch Processing settings)

All specific project settings (for example, selected Language Pairs, TMs, Termbases, AutoSuggest dictionaries, Automated Translation servers, File Types, TM settings, Batch Processing settings) are stored inside each project folder.

Only one profile can be active at any time; however, you can create multiple profiles and switch between them. You can export your user profile to a file for sharing with other users or for you to take with you when you use SDL Trados Studio on a different computer. You could also create profiles for use with different customers. This means that you can have a number of profiles and switch between them.

SDLX and SDL Trados User Profiles

If you are an SDLX or SDL Trados user, there are special user profiles that you can choose. These profiles enable you to use SDLX or SDL Trados keyboard shortcuts in SDL Trados Studio and also to have similar pre-translation and translation settings to those you had previously.

Choosing a User Profile

The first time that you start SDL Trados Studio, you are asked to choose a profile before the application opens in the SDL Trados Studio Setup wizard. This profile will continue to be used until you select a different profile.

To view the currently selected profile or to select a different profile, select File > Setup > Manage User Profiles. The Manage User Profiles wizard is displayed. From here you can view your current profile, export your profile and switch profiles.

How to Check Which Profile You Are Currently Using

  1. Select File > Setup > Manage User Profiles. The User Profiles page of the Manage User Profiles wizard is displayed.

  2. View the name of the currently selected profile next to Current user profile.

  3. Click Cancel to close the wizard.

How to Export Profile Settings

Settings can be exported to a *.sdlprofile file. You can select the file later and the settings stored in the file will be applied to the current profile. You can also take the file with you and use it when you work on a different computer.

  1. Select File > Setup > Manage User Profiles. The User Profiles page of the Manage User Profiles wizard is displayed. The Export user settings option is selected by default.

  2. Check the profile name displayed next to Current user profile. This is the profile for which settings will be exported.

  • If you want to export settings from a different profile, you must switch to that profile before performing the export.

  1. Click Next. The Export User Settings page of the wizard is displayed.

  2. Click Browse to display the Save As dialog box where can enter the file name you want to use for the settings file and the location to which you want to save the settings.

  3. Enter a name for the profile, for example, Profile for New Users. This is the name that appears when you go to view what profile you currently have selected.

  4. Click Finish to save the profile file and close the wizard.

How to Switch User Profiles

  1. Select File > Setup > Manage User Profiles. The User Profiles page of the Manage User Profiles wizard is displayed. The Export user settings option is selected by default.

  2. Check the profile name displayed next to Current user profile. This is the current profile.

  3. Select Change user profile and click Next. The Backup User Settings page of the wizard is displayed.

  4. Choose if you want to save profile changes:

  • To save the changes you have made to the current profile, select Back up my existing settings to the following location.

  • If do not want to save any changes made to your current profile, select Do not back up, overwrite current settings.

  1. Click Next. The Select User Profile page of the wizard is displayed.

  2. Select the profile you want to switch to:

  • Select one of the three predefined profiles: Default, SDL Trados and SDLX.

  • To use profile settings from a *.sdlprofile file, click Browse and select the user profile that you want to use.

  1. Click Finish. The selected profile becomes the current profile and the wizard is closed.

How to Reset User Settings

If you want to discard any changes made to the current profile, you can choose to reset the user settings in the profile to the default settings.

  1. Select File > Setup > Manage User Profiles. The User Profiles page of the Manage User Profiles wizard is displayed. The Export user settings option is selected by default.

  2. Check the profile name displayed next to Current user profile. This is the current profile.

  3. Select Reset user setting and click Next. The Backup User Settings page of the wizard is displayed.

  4. Select whether you want to backup your existing settings and where you would like them to be stored. If you choose not to backup your settings, they are simply overwritten.

  5. Click Finish to reset the user settings and close the wizard.

Anonymous