Unable to export files or check-out files in Trados Studio when the GroupShare project creator has different credentials ?

Hi,

When opening a project in Review state with my user credentials, Trados Studio shows an error message asking me to use the credentials of the project creator.

The project was published in GroupShare 2017, and I was correctly added as a user with review rights.

I cannot export the files a WLIFF either on my computer due to the same issue.

This issue is NOT an issue from Trados Studio as this problem does not appear with GroupShare 2015.

Parents Reply
  • Hi ,

    Thank you for confirming that everything works now.

    The root cause of the issue is with the .sdlproj file which is Studio's way of storing data related to each project. Although it is not recommended, and is part of the reason GroupShare exists, multiple users are able to open a project from the same location on a shared drive and able to collaborate in this way (see known issues for reasons why we discourage this workflow).

    However, as soon as somebody publishes the project to GroupShare, the .sdlproj file is modified by Studio, and now contains user-specific information. From here on, as far as Studio is concerned, this project is 'owned' by the person who published it. It expects all communication between Studio and the GroupShare server to be performed as this user.

    The way GroupShare works is that you publish your data to the GroupShare server and then assign it to translators, reviewers, etc. in different phases. They then open the project, and save it locally. They check their assigned files out, and then back in again once they have finished. This eliminates the need to use any other sort of network share. In fact, we don't even advise saving the project to a private network drive, as network speed and other communication issues can drastically affect performance.

    It might help to think of GroupShare as your main file store, and the local hard drives of the translators as a temporary location where they work and then send their finished work back to the file store when they have finished. This project data can stay on the GroupShare server indefinitely if needed so any of the users (who have permissions) can retrieve old projects at a later date.

    Kind regards,
    Nick

Children
No Data