In GroupShare 2015 it used to be possible to first link a TM to a field template (in order to not have to enter all the fields manually) and then unlink it without losing the Information in the fields. This seems to be no longer possible in GroupShare 2017. Is that true?
Removing fields can be useful when exporting and sharing your TM with others and you want to keep your information private. Achieving this by unlinking the field template is not a bad idea.As an option to keep the fields you can export your TM to TMX (which would export all field values), unlink the field template and then reimport from the TMX. That way your field values would end up "hard-coded".