Does anyone know whether SDL has considered making Studio compatible with Dragon any time in the near future?

I've been using Dragon with SDL for several years now, and although I'm not completely unhappy with the results, I feel frustrated that I can't use the 'Correct that' command so as to teach Dragon to become more accurate. Just being able to use that command would make a huge difference over time. If MemoQ has managed to offer full compatibility with Dragon, why has SDL not addressed this matter? Thanks in advance for your answers!

12 Replies Latest Replies: 28 Apr 2016 10:20 AM by Paul < 1   2   3  >
  • Hi Claudia,

It's not a question of whether we have considered this or not, nor is it a question of memoQ or anyone else doing this.  It is very likely that memoQ didn't have to do anything to achieve this capability of "full" compatibility with Dragon.  If the technology in the editor of any application is based on something that Dragon can support then it works out of the box.  Unfortunately the Studio editor is not based on a technology that Dragon will support in this way.

We have spent quite a bit of time looking at this, and not just for Dragon, but also for applications such as JAWS which need to be able to access more of the commands and features than Dragon needs and we are making progress.  So a company retailing JAWS for example is working on a solution using the Studio API and some libraries we prepared to support this.  I hope this will be available soon.

The compatibility with Dragon could probably be enhanced by Dragon developers if they chose to do this, but our own solution is unlikely to achieve native support until we change the Studio editor, and this is also something we are looking at.